Leadership and Governance

OBFS is governed by a set of Member-elected and Board-selected officers and committee chairs.  Elected Officers comprise the Executive Committee.  All Officers and Standing Committee chairs (but not sub-comittee chairs) together make up the Board of Directors.  See Bylaws for governance details.

*Elected Officer and Board-Selected Officer terms are two years, April 1 to March 31.  Organizational Standing Committee Chair terms are one year, January 1 to December 31.
 

Elected Officers (Executive Committee)

Office Officer Email Term*
President Sarah Oktay president@obfs.org 2014-2016
Past President1 Bill Schuester past-president@obfs.org 2014-2016
Vice President Damon Gannon vice-president@obfs.org 2013-2015
Secretary Stacy McNulty secretary@obfs.org 2014-2016
Treasurer Philippe Cohen treasurer@obfs.org 2013-2015
Member at Large - 1 Mel Dean diversity@obfs.org 2013-2015
Member at Large - 2 Chris Lorentz lorentc@thomasmore.edu 2014-2016
Member at Large - Early Career Pat Oelschlager  oelschp@juniata.edu 2015-2017
1Past President is not technically "elected."  Outgoing President assumes this office.

Board-Selected Officers

Office Officer Email Term*
Editor David White editor@obfs.org 2014-2016
Network Coordinator Gwen Pearson webmaster@obfs.org 2013-2015

Organizational Standing Committees

The business of OBFS is conducted through committees.  Organizational Standing Committees are created and dissolved at the pleasure of the Board of Directors.  Committee Chairs are appointed by the Executive Committee annually and assume seats on the Board of Directors for the duration of their appointment.  Subcommittees are informal working groups assigned by the Board for specific tasks. They are not Organizational Standing Committees. 

Committee Chair(s) Email Term
Annual Meeting Damon Gannon annual-meeting@obfs.org 2014
Governance Eric Nagy governance@obfs.org 2014
     sub: Finance Peter Connors finance@obfs.org ongoing
     sub: Nominations
Brian Kloeppel nominating@obfs.org appointed as needed
Historian Mary Hufty hufty@mac.com 2014
Human Diversity Mel Dean diversity@obfs.org 2014
International Paul Foster & Carlos de la Rosa international@obfs.org 2014
Member Support Sarah Oktay member_support@obfs.org 2014
Organizational Development Brian Kloeppel bkloeppel@wcu.edu 2014
Outreach Chris Lorentz lorentc@thomasmore.edu 2014