Leadership and Governance

The Organization of Biological Field Stations is governed by its Members and a Board of Directors composed of Member-elected and Board-selected Officers, and Organizational Standing Committee Chairs. Member-elected Officers comprise the Executive Committee. See Bylaws for governance details. Currently there are 15 Directors on the Board.

*Terms: Elected Officer and Board-Selected Officer terms are two years, April 1 to March 31. Organizational Standing Committee Chair terms are one year, January 1 to December 31, except for Annual Meeting Chair which tracks Vice President appointment.
1Past President is not technically "elected."  Outgoing President assumes this office.  

Elected Officers (Executive Committee)

Office Officer Email Term*
President Sarah Oktay president@obfs.org 2014-2016
President Elect Paul Foster president@obfs.org 2016-2018
Past President1
Bill Schuster past-president@obfs.org 2014-2016
Vice President Damon Gannon vice-president@obfs.org 2015-2017
Secretary Stacy McNulty secretary@obfs.org 2014-2016 & 2016-2018
Treasurer Philippe Cohen treasurer@obfs.org 2015-2017
Member at Large - 1 Reid Bertone-Johnson  rbertone@smith.edu 2015-2017
Member at Large - 2 Chris Lorentz lorentc@thomasmore.edu 2014-2016
Member at Large - 2 Elect Jennifer Seavey Jennifer.Seavey@unh.edu 2016-2018

Board-Selected Officers

Office Officer Email Term*
Editor David White editor@obfs.org 2014-2016 & 2016-2018
Network Coordinator Jason Tallant
webmaster@obfs.org 2014-2016 & 2016-2018
Member at Large - Early Career Pat Oelschlager oelschp@juniata.edu 2015-2017

Organizational Standing Committees

The business of OBFS is conducted through committees.  Organizational Standing Committees are created and dissolved at the pleasure of the Board of Directors.  Committee Chairs are appointed by the Executive Committee annually and assume seats on the Board of Directors for the duration of their appointment.  Subcommittees are informal working groups assigned by the Board for specific tasks. They are not Organizational Standing Committees, and their chairs do not have a seat on the Board. 

Committee Chair(s) Email Term*
Annual Meeting Damon Gannon annual-meeting@obfs.org 2015-2017
Governance Eric Nagy governance@obfs.org 2016
     sub: Finance Peter Connors finance@obfs.org ongoing
     sub: Nominations
[vacant] nominating@obfs.org appointed as needed
Historian Mary Hufty hufty@mac.com 2016
Human Diversity Mel Dean diversity@obfs.org 2016
International Paul Foster or Carlos de la Rosa international@obfs.org 2016
Organizational Development Brian Kloeppel bkloeppel@wcu.edu 2016
Outreach Chris Lorentz lorentc@thomasmore.edu 2016