Leadership and Governance

The Organization of Biological Field Stations is governed by its Members and a Board of Directors composed of Member-elected and Board-selected Officers, and Organizational Standing Committee Chairs. Member-elected Officers comprise the Executive Committee. See Bylaws for governance details. Currently there are 15 Directors on the Board.

Past minutes, document archive, Policies and Procedures Manual, and other organizational material useful to Members and Directors is available with log-in. Contact governance@obfs.org or webmaster@obfs.org for access.

*Terms: Elected Officer and Board-Selected Officer terms are two years, April 1 to March 31. Organizational Standing Committee Chair terms are one year, January 1 to December 31, except for Annual Meeting Chair which tracks Vice President appointment.
1Past President is not technically "elected."  Outgoing President assumes this office ex officio.  

Elected Officers (Executive Committee)

Office Officer Email Term*
President Paul Foster president@obfs.org 2016-2018
Past President1
Sarah Oktay (ex officio) past-president@obfs.org 2016-2018
Vice President Chris Lorentz vice-president@obfs.org 2017-2019
Secretary Stacy McNulty secretary@obfs.org 2016-2018
Treasurer Philippe Cohen treasurer@obfs.org 2017-2019
Member at Large - One Sylvia Torti sylvia.torti@utah.edu
2017-2019
Member at Large - Two Jennifer Seavey jennifer.seavey@unh.edu 2016-2018
Member at Large - Early Career Anne Kelly akelly5@ucmerced.edu 2016-2018


Board-Selected Officers

Office Officer Email Term*
Editor David White editor@obfs.org 2016-2018
Network Coordinator                  Jason Tallant               
webmaster@obfs.org        2016-2018

 
Organizational Standing Committees

The business of OBFS is conducted through committees.  Organizational Standing Committees are created and dissolved by the Members or the Board of Directors.  Committee Chairs are appointed by the Board of Directors annually and assume seats on the Board for the duration of their appointment.  
**Subcommittees are ad-hoc committees assigned by the Board for specific tasks. They are not Organizational Standing Committees; chairs do not have a seat on the Board. 

Committee Chair(s) Email Term*
Annual Meeting Chris Lorentz (ex officio, VP) vice-president@obfs.org 2015-2017
Finance and Membership Philippe Cohen (ex officio, Treasurer) treasurer@obfs.org 2017-2019
     subcommittee: Investment**  Peter Connors  investment@obfs.org ongoing
Governance Eric Nagy governance@obfs.org 2017
     subcommittee: Nominations**
Sarah Oktay (ex officio, Past President)  past-president@obfs.org
as needed
Human Diversity Amy Whipple diversity@obfs.org 2017
International Carlos de la Rosa
David Manelli
international@obfs.org 2017
Organizational Development Brian Kloeppel bkloeppel@wcu.edu 2017
Outreach Chris Lorentz lorentc@thomasmore.edu 2017
     subcommittee: Communications**

Vanessa Trujillo
Mary Hufty (ex officio, Historian)

nessa.trujillo@gmail.com
hufty@mac.com
2017