Leadership and Governance

The Organization of Biological Field Stations is governed by its Members and a Board of Directors composed of Member-elected and Board-selected Officers, and Organizational Standing Committee Chairs. Member-elected Officers comprise the Executive Committee. See Bylaws for governance details. Currently there are 15 Directors on the Board.

Past minutes, document archive, Policies and Procedures Manual, and other organizational material useful to Members and Directors is available with log-in. Contact [email protected] or [email protected] for access.

*Terms: Elected Officer and Board-Selected Officer terms are two years, April 1 to March 31. Organizational Standing Committee Chair terms are one year, January 1 to December 31, except for Annual Meeting Chair which tracks Vice President appointment.
1Past President is not technically "elected."  Outgoing President assumes this office ex officio.  

Elected Officers (Executive Committee)

Office Officer Email Term*
President Paul Foster [email protected] 2016-2018
Past President1
Sarah Oktay (ex officio) [email protected] 2016-2018
Vice President Chris Lorentz [email protected] 2017-2019
Secretary Stacy McNulty [email protected] 2016-2018
Treasurer Philippe Cohen [email protected] 2017-2019
Member at Large - One Sylvia Torti [email protected]
Member at Large - Two Jennifer Seavey [email protected] 2016-2018
Member at Large - Early Career Anne Kelly [email protected] 2016-2018

Board-Selected Officers

Office Officer Email Term*
Editor David White [email protected] 2016-2018
Network Coordinator                  Jason Tallant               
[email protected]        2016-2018

Organizational Standing Committees

The business of OBFS is conducted through committees.  Organizational Standing Committees are created and dissolved by the Members or the Board of Directors.  Committee Chairs are appointed by the Board of Directors annually and assume seats on the Board for the duration of their appointment.  
**Subcommittees are ad-hoc committees assigned by the Board for specific tasks. They are not Organizational Standing Committees; chairs do not have a seat on the Board. 

Committee Chair(s) Email Term*
Annual Meeting Chris Lorentz (ex officio, VP) [email protected] 2015-2017
Finance and Membership Philippe Cohen (ex officio, Treasurer) [email protected] 2017-2019
     subcommittee: Investment**  Peter Connors  [email protected] ongoing
Governance Eric Nagy [email protected] 2018
     subcommittee: Nominations**
Sarah Oktay (ex officio, Past President)  [email protected]
as needed
Human Diversity Amy Whipple [email protected] 2018
International Carlos de la Rosa
David Manelli
[email protected] 2018
Organizational Development Brian Kloeppel [email protected] 2018
Outreach Lisa Busch [email protected] 2018
     subcommittee: Communications**

Vanessa Trujillo
Mary Hufty (ex officio, Historian)

[email protected]
[email protected]